Begin today’s journey.


What is Meditations for the Metro?

It seems that many of the ancient models for daily prayer and study, though essential, are impossible to practice in the schedule of modern life.

For many of us, the only true "quiet times" that we have are on our commutes to and from work, and even then, we might still be surrounded by people on the train, the bus, or in traffic.

Meditations for the Metro is a daily packaging of readings and prayers in both script and audio forms for you to read or listen to on your daily commute.

If you're trying to find a space for God in your life and can’t, it’s our hope that Meditations for the Metro will inhabit that space of daily waiting with something of substance and transcendence.

New entries post every morning, Monday to Saturday.

Website Graphics.001.png

The Liturgical Cycle

The Daily Office follows the seasons of The Liturgical Calendar—Advent, Christmas, Epiphany, Lent, Easter, Pentecost, and Ordinary Time.

The intention in following this calendar is to mark our time(s) with God, taking our lives and placing them into God’s story, allowing it to shape and create a rhythm for our own.


Free Delivery

If you would like to have Meditations For The Metro emailed to you each morning, you can join our mailing list by filling in the field below and clicking the subscribe button. You can unsubscribe at any time.

The Seasons


The season of preparation which begins on the fourth Sunday before Christmas and in which the church recalls its hope and expectancy in the comings of Christ, past, present and future.


The Christmas season includes Christmas Day and the twelve following days of Christmas. Recalling the stories of the birth and infancy of Christ, the church celebrates the mystery of the incarnation.


Epiphany is a series of weeks, beginning twelve days after Christmas, in which the church reflects on the manifestation of Christ to all peoples.


The season of preparation and discipline, which begins on Ash Wednesday and concludes at sun-down on Holy Saturday. During the forty weekdays and six Sundays in Lent, the church remembers the sacrificial life and ministry of Jesus leading to the cross and renews its commitment to Christian discipleship.


Beginning on Easter Day and concluding on the Day of Pentecost, this season celebrates the resurrection and ascension of Christ and the outpouring of the Holy Spirit.


The period during which the church recalls its faith in and seeks to relate its faith as the people of God to Christ’s mission to the world.


The three year cycle of readings from the gospels is referred to as “Ordinary Time.“ Year A: Matthew, Year B: Mark, and Year C: Luke.

Readings from John’s Gospel are included mainly in Lent and Easter.